International Collabration

The Urban Land Nexus and Inclusive Urbanization in Dar es Salaam, Mwanza and Khartoum

This action-oriented research project will use the urban land nexus and its politics to provide the entry point for
analysing the cities of Khartoum, Dar es Salaam and Mwanza and as integrated city systems. The overarching
objective is to identify, research, and stimulate policy debate on actionable changes that are politically feasible
and scalable within existing urban systems, and will foster more inclusive and welfare-enhancing urban
transitions. The political economy of the urban land nexus, and the movement of people in, out and around this
nexus, are central to the inclusion or exclusion of urban systems. Particular attention will be paid to the
gender, class and migratory dimensions of the urban land nexus and how these play out over the formalinformal
continua, through various forms and levels of governance, and in relation to the provision of
infrastructure and the operation of markets.


Development (DFID) and the East African Research Fund (EARF) ; and on the other hand,
to value the constructive cooperation between the University and some of the internationally reputative universities and research centers such as the Institute for Development Studies (IDS) of Sussex University; Ardi University,Tanzania; Center for Community Initiatives (CCI) Tanzania; Commonwealth Local Governance Forum (CLGF); Estidama - Sudan; International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED); and Landak of Utrecht University - Netherlands.
Through this project, the University of Khartoum affirms one of its most important objectives in serving the Sudanese community and confirms its bias towards the vulnerable and economically weak groups.
The Deanship of Scientific Research would like to reiterate thanks, in particular, to the national and international research team members, and appreciates the thumping role of the Ministry of Planning and the Ministry of Infrastructure in Khartoum State for their prominent participation in all the details of the work; and in particular the Structure Plan Directorate which provided venue, computers and logistics to the working team during the period when the University was closed for the sit-up of the glorious December revolution.
Thanks are due to the University administrations and the related units, and praise be to Allah the Almighty for which good works are accomplished.

Khartoum Research Team

  • Abubakr Saad Taha (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Abubakre Husein Mergani (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Ahmed A. M. Elhassan (University of Khartoum)
  • Akram Idriss Abdelraheem Idriss (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Amani Hassan M. Elsheikh (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Asjad Faysal (Ministry of Infrastructure and Transportation)
  • Aziza Ahmed Kabashi Abu Elftoh (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Babiker Fath Alla (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Dhalia Abuhrayra Elnahas (Eastern Nile University)
  • Elkindi Hassan Mohammed Ahmed Elaagip (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Gamal M. Hamid (University of Khartoum)
  • Ibrahim Z. Bahreldin (University of Khartoum)
  • Khadiga M. Osman (University of Khartoum)
  • Khalifa Khalil (Ministry of Infrastructure and Transportation)
  • Maha M. Eltahir (Ministry of Infrastructure and Transportation)
  • Misaab Gamal Abdalla Hassan (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Mohamed Nagib Suliman Elhoweiris (University of Khartoum)
  • Nuha Mohamed Elmurtada Ibrahim Taha (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Rania Elhadi Bushra Hassan (Eastern Nile University)
  • Rehame Hamza Gasem Alsid Hassan (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Salah Hassan Abukashawa (Estidama)
  • Salah Mahmoud Osman (University of Khartoum)
  • Tahlil Osman Ahmed Wini (Ministry of Physical Planning)
  • Wahat Mohamed Ali Abugroon (Ribat University)


Published 26 November 2020

International Research Team:

  • Enrico Ille (Consultant to Institute of Development Studies)
  • Gareth Wall (Commonwealth Local Government Forum)
  • Gordon McGranahan (Institute of Development Studies)
  • Griet Steel (University of Utrecht)
  • Sadaf Khan (Institute of Development Studies)